The 2018 Order of Merit (OOM) will comprise three separate competitions – A Scratch Order of Merit Championship as in past years; a new Net Order of Merit Competition; and a Club Championship in two Divisions – one for larger clubs and one for smaller clubs.


These events are only open to amateur men golfers who are playing members of an ACT-Monaro District Golf Club and meet the following two criteria:

  1. Hold a current GA handicap; and
  2. Are eligible to play in the various Club Opens Events listed below; and pay the appropriate entry fee for any event they enter.

Note a member of an ACTM Club, that has a home club outside the District, will only be included in the OOMs if they advise the OOM Coordinator by email that they wish to be considered in the OOM, stating their home club and their ACTM club.

For the Club events, a players who belongs to 2 or more ACTM clubs will only have their points allocated to their home club.


Entry into the OOM will be automatic when the results from an individual Open Competition from Golflink are entered into the ACT-M DGA’s GolfBox Competition software system.


Included Events

These three competitions will be based on points awarded for individual performances at a selection of ACT-M Club Open events during 2017-18, as listed below (this list may be varied).

1)            Yass Open                                                                             Dec 2107

2)            a) Gold Creek Classic (Scratch)                                        Jan 2018

  1. b) Gold Creek Classic and Bowl (Handicap)

3)            Queanbeyan Open                                                               Feb 2018

4)            RCGC Easter Tournament                                                 April 2018

  1. a) ACT Amateur (Scratch)
  2. b) Easter Medal and Canberra Cup (Handicap)

5)            Braidwood Open                                                                 April 2018

6)            Murrumbidgee Open                                                          May 2018

7)            Bombala Open                                                                     May 2018

8)            Yowani Open                                                                        September 2018

9)            Goulburn Cup                                                                       September 2018

10)          Gungahlin Lakes Open                                                       September 2018

11)          Belconnen Open                                                                   October 2018

12)          Cooma Open                                                                          October 2018

13)          Fairbairn Open                                                                     November 2018

14)          RMC Open                                                                             November 2018

15)          DISTRICT CHAMPIONSHIPS                                          November at RCGC

16)          An event at Federal                                                             TBC

Final Event

The leading players in both the Scratch and Handicap events will be encouraged to play in the final event — the ACT-M District Championships (Nov) – where double normal points will be awarded.  The top ~10 players in the Scratch and Handicap event will be exempt from any handicap ballots that may apply for this event, as the field size is sometimes limited.

Points Structure

Points will be awarded to individual players for positions gained in individual Open events.

The same scale of points will be awarded at each event, regardless of the number of days involved.   Individual players final points total will comprise all points accrued from all events played in the season.   The Competition committee reserves the right to exclude a particular event if the number of competitors that take-part is not sufficiently large to ensure a reasonable challenge for points.

Players finishing tied for a position in an event will all receive equal points for that position, ie if 3 people finish tied 2nd, then they share 2nd, 3rd and 4th points (111.7 points). Exception:  if there is a play-off for first then the play-off winner receives 1st place points and the others receive 2nd place points.  No points will be awarded to anyone who does not finish an event (i.e. individuals designated as N/A, when the results are obtained from GolfLink)

1st            150 points

2nd                 125

3rd                 110

4th           100

5th                 95

6th                 90

7th           85

8th           80

9th           75

10th         70

11th         67

12th         64

13th         61

14th         58

15th         55

16th         52

17th         49

18th         46

19th         43

20th         40

21st         38

22nd         35

23rd         32

24th         29

25th         26

26th         23

27th         20

28th         17

29th         14

30th         11

All others 5 points

Double normal points will be awarded in the final event – the District Championships.

The same scale of point allocation will apply in both the SCRATCH and HANDICAP Competitions.

The scoring for the Inter-Club Competition for each round will be based on the total points awarded to all players from that club using only the Handicap points awarded to individuals.

Final Results Determination & Prizes

ACTMDGA OOM CHAMPION and ACTMDGA HANDICAP WINNER – will be awarded to the players with the most points (in their respective groups) at the conclusion of the Competition.

A Perpetual Trophy, an embroidered Golf “Jacket” plus a significant prize voucher will be awarded to both INDIVIDUALS.  Prizes for Runners-up and 3rd places will also be awarded.

In the unlikely event of a tie at the end of the Competition, positions will be determined as follows:

ŸPlacing in the Final Event – the District Championships, if still tied then;

ŸNumber of events played, if still tied then;

ŸOther criteria designated by the Competition Committee.

Individuals can only win one major prize (i.e. they cannot win both Scratch and Handicap prizes)

For the Club Competition the winning Clubs will be the ones that accumulate the highest number of total points at the end of the season following the conclusion of the RMC Open (i.e. the District Championships will not be included in this competition).  The prizes for “BEST” CLUBS will awarded at the District Championships.  Due to the large range in the size of clubs in the DGA there will be two separate Divisions — one for smaller clubs and one for larger clubs.  The “Best” Clubs in the two divisions will be awarded a perpetual trophy and an appropriate wall hanging for display at their Club.

LARGER CLUBS GROUP: Belconnen Magpies, Fairbairn, Federal, Gold Creek, Goulburn, Gungahlin Lakes, MCC, Queanbeyan, RMC, Royal Canberra, Yowani.

SMALLER CLUBS GROUP:  Bombala, Braidwood, Capital, Coolamatong, Cooma, Crookwell, Delegate, Thredbo, Taralga, Tully Park, Yass.

All events in the competition shall be played in accordance with the Rules of Golf as adopted by R&A Rules Ltd., together with such local rules as are in force on the courses being played.


The Competition will be under the control of the ACTMOOM Competition Committee (CC). This will comprise the Captain of the ACT-Monaro DGA and the Co-ordinator of the Competition, together with any of their appointees.

The CC has complete control of this event and reserves the right to vary conditions should it be deemed necessary. Decisions made by the CC shall be final.

All individual Open Events are under the control of the hosting Golf Club.

Compilation of the results will be managed by the ACTMOOM Co-ordinator. The Co-coordinator for 2018 will be Simon Dunstone (DGA Match Committee)  mobile:  0435 359 526.