This event is open to amateur men golfers who are a playing member of an ACT Monaro District Golf Club and meet the following criteria:

a) Hold a current GA handicap of 5.4 or less, or held a GA handicap of 5.4 or less at one of the events played during  2017;

b) Are eligible to play in the various Club Opens Events listed below; and pay the appropriate entry fee for any event they enter;

c) Register to be part of the Competition with the DGA;

d) Play in the final event, the District Championships — unless exceptional circumstances preclude this.

This competition will be based on points awarded for performances at a selection of ACT-M Club Open events during 2017 as listed below (this list may be varied):

1) Yass Open  -Dec 2106

2) Gold Creek Classic  21st – 22nd January

3) Queanbeyan Open  4th February

4) Royal Canberra Easter Open 14 – 17th April

5) Murrumbidgee Open  6th – 7th May

6) Bombala Open   20th – 21st May

7) Braidwood Open  16th July

8) Yowani Open   9th – 10th September

9) Goulburn Cup   16th – 17th September

10) Gungahlin Lakes Open  23rd – 24th September

11) Belconnen Open   30th Sept– 1st October

12) Coolamatong Open  21st – 22nd October

13) Cooma Open   28th – 29th October

14) Fairbairn Open   4th – 5th November

15) Federal Open   10th – 12th November

16) RMC Open   19nd November

17) DISTRICT CHAMPIONSHIPS 26th November at Fairbairn

Points will be awarded for positions gained in events; the revia number of points awarded will be based on the number of low handicap golfers in each individual events. More points will be awarded for higher tier events. Most events are two-day events, but some are only one day.

Individual open events will fall into one of two categories:  Tier One events – events with at least 25 golfers with a GA handicap of 5.4 or less; Tier Two events – events with less than 25 golfers with a GA handicap 5.4 or less.

Tier Ist 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th All Others
One 100 80 70 60 50 40 30 20 10 10 5
Two 50 40 35 30 25 20 15 15 10 10 5

Double normal points will be awarded in the final event – the District Championships.

ACTMOOM Champion will be the player with the most points at the conclusion of the Competition.

Perpetual Trophy, plus a significant prize voucher possibly $1000 (if fields reasonable);
?ACTMOOM Runner-up – player with the next best total points score — $750 prize voucher (if fields reasonable); ? ACMOOM 3rd place – player with the next best total points score — $500 prize voucher (if fields reasonable).

Prizes will be awarded at the conclusion of the 2017 District championships.

In the unlikely event of a tie at the end of the Competition, positions will be determined as follows: ?

  • Placing in the Final Event – the District Championships ?
  • Number of events played ?
  • Other criteria designated by the Competition Committee

All events in the competition shall be played in accordance with the Rules of Golf as adopted by R&A Rules Ltd., together with such local rules as are in force on the courses being played.

The Competition will be under the control of the ACTMOOM Competition Committee (CC). This will comprise the Captain of the ACTMonaro DGA and the Coordinator of the Competition, together with any of their appointees.  The CC has complete control of this event and reserves the right to vary conditions should it be deemed necessary.  Decisions made by the CC shall be final.   All individual events are under the control of the hosting Golf Club.

Result compilation will be managed by the ACTMOOM Coordinator. The Cooordinator for 2017 will be Richard Bance (DGA Match Committee) –; phone 0421 614 588.

Individuals interested in entering this competition MUST supply the following details to Richard: Name, Golf Club, GolfLink number, email address