Well done to all players who competed in the 2020 ACT-M District Championships conducted at Gungahlin Lakes Golf Club today (Sunday 13 December 2020).

A strong field of 45 district players took on the challenge of Gungahlin Lakes today in warm but sometimes breezy conditions. The wind today was out of the east-south-east quarter which is a little unusual for this time of year in Canberra, and no doubt caused some players to re-think their game just a bit!

Nevertheless some very good scores were recorded with the two leading players – Joshua Reid from Royal Canberra GC and Ross Armitage from Yowani CC – both on 73 at the finish requiring a sudden death play-off to separate them.

The two play-off holes (1 and 18) were selected and both players were supported by a small band of keen on-lookers. Following the toss, Ross Armitage was away first.

Perhaps not his best drive of the day saw him finish up avoiding the trees and land, quite fortunately, on the 18th fairway with a fairly clear shot of about 130m into the 1st green. Joshua on the other hand nailed his drive down the center right of the fairway to end up around 45m from the pin.

Ross found the green with a well placed shot, as did Joshua, whose chip and run ran a bit further than he might have liked. Both players now facing putts of 12 feet+.

Joshua was away first with a well judged lag putt to within about a foot or so – making a tidy par. Ross’ first putt ran closely by the hole ending up about 3 feet beyond the pin. Regrettably his return putt just missed and the championship for 2020 belonged to Joshua.

The District congratulates both players for an great competition and our congratulations to our District Champion for 2020 – Joshua Reid from Royal Canberra GC.

Our thanks to Gungahlin Lakes for the use of their course and the support provided throughout.

Also a special mention to District Captain Jim Jackson for his organisation and management of the event, and to Les Wallace as our accredited referee.

In the Nett event, congrats to Ben Ernst (Gungahlin Lakes GC) who was successful with a Nett 69 (ocb) from Chris Hope from Gold Creek GC.

Best score recorded in the Senior Division was Simon Dunstone (Gungahlin Lakes GC) with 78 off the stick, and the Junior Division winner was Callan Robertson from Federal GC with a score of 82.

Copies of the full score sheets are attached at the respective links:

Gross Scores

Nett Scores